The Girl with the Pearl Earring

For my painting studio, a take home assignment was given to us to make a master copy of an artist of our choice. I always loved the painting Girl With the Pearl Earring and I decided I wanted to paint it! I realized it was a HUGE undertaking, but I wanted to challenge myself.

I don’t think I’ve ever spent so much time on one painting before! I’m normally a very quick painter, so it is strange to not have a painting done in a few hours.This is one of the hardest paintings to copy, Vermeer has a style that is much different from my own.

THe most challenging feature was the lips.

To prepare for the painting, I made a small oil study in class, followed by some sketches to really make sure I understood how to recreate the facial features. The drawing became a fun abstract sketch, and I love it! It’s a little work of art that I am pleased with in itself.

tumblr_n3df10UrOJ1ry5w8co1_1280

 

 

Here is the final product! I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out!!

DSC_0070

Leave a Reply

